OWH Sketch Challenge #196 Take 3

Standard

The latest sketch challenge is up at Operation Write Home#196. This is my third take.

This sketch has solved a big problem for me. Years and years ago I bought 4 or 5 of the Making Memories Olivia Boho Chic 6×6 pads. I can’t remember why – at the time I didn’t make cards or scrapbook or anything else that would involve needing packs of paper. Probably because they were super cheap and I liked the pink filigree print in the pack – I’m assuming this is the reason because I also own a pack of this pattern – Baroque – in 12×12 sheets as well. Twenty five 12×12 sheets. What. Was. I. Thinking?

Anyway, I used one pack last year in a “use a whole pack of paper to make cards” challenge.  I ended up with 93 cards from one pack. It took me months to finish.

I decided that the next pack I used, I’d just cut the whole thing into 3″ squares and mount them on black. I cut them all, mounted 1/3 on black and gave up as I couldn’t think of a way to use the mounted squares. I’ve made a few cards with the squares but usually only when I was mojo-less.

This sketch is the perfect vehicle for those squares. Embossing the white layer adds tremendous depth to what is really a simple design.

Core-dinations Black, Xerox Flecs Cover, Making Memories Olivia Boho Chic. Scallop is from Silhouette, Sizzix Tim Holtz folder, TPC Studio Hugs and Kisses in Memento Tuxedo Black. The Precious.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Sketch Challenge #197 | Operation Write Home

  2. Nice card Kara! LOL, I once bought a pack of 25 – 12x12s and I’m pretty sure I loved it when I started but got pretty sick of the pattern long before that pack was used. It was a lesson learned for me and I never did it again. 🙂