Michael Nesmith is the Awesome

Standard

So, the hubster and I had tickets to the Michael Nesmith show that was at the Birchmere last night.

He was in top form, performing loads of solo stuff that spanned his 50 year career. He started the show by explaining that all his songs are like mini movies in his head. Before each one, he’d explain the vignette to us. So cool – it totally puts you in the right frame of mind for the song. One of my favorite songs from the setlist is Silver Moon. When I knew he was coming up to that point, I shot video of the explanation. (I absolutely adore his speaking voice. He could read a dictionary to me and I’d be spellbound.)

We also had passes to the Meet & Greet after the show. Strict rule – 1 Monkees item only, unlimited solo stuff. My husband was in line ahead of me. I shot video of his time with Nez. The beginning of it amuses me – his handler, Tori, asked why I was so serious, I whispered my response – “Because that’s Michael Freaking Nesmith.”

Notice that I didn’t drop the camera or squee like a fangirl when he smiled and waved at me…

When it was my turn, I had him sign the Monkees poster that I had in my room in the late 1980’s. Per my somewhat unusual request, he personalized it with “Listen to the Band”.

I explained that years of thought had gone into a tattoo decision and that I’d had an epiphany earlier in the day – the phrase / title “Listen to the Band” pretty much sums up everything in regards to music for me. Having that phrase written in his handwriting would allow me a very personalized tattoo that would really never go out of fashion.

**Updated 5/24/13 – here’s the tattoo a month later. I smile every time I see it. (The “Nez” was copied from our autographed Elephant Parts DVD.)**

The final wonderful moment of the night? I hate having my picture taken. At my brother in law’s wedding a few of years ago, my husband got a shot of me that has become my favorite. It’s been my FB profile pic for 4 years.

I pulled out my phone, showed Michael the picture and asked if he minded if I stood like that in the picture with him. I then said he could stand with his back to the camera as well. Guess what? HE TOTALLY PLAYED ALONG. He was even concerned that he wasn’t positioned like me.

How AWESOME is he? This is now my FB cover picture and I’ve cropped myself a new Profile shot.

He is absolutely gracious and kind. If you get a chance to meet him, please do. Make sure you treat him as personably as he treated us.

One response