OWH July 4th VCMP Challenge #18

Standard

Operation Write Home had a Virtual Card Making Party for the 4th of July.

The 18th and final challenge was hosted by Cara at Crafting Adventures. Use a faux technique on your card.

My card is another happy accident. For the Texture challenge, my first attempt started by using the Tim Holtz Rays stencil with Distressed Inks to create a rainbow pattern on a card. Then I used a Rays embossing folder with it but the rays didn’t match and the card became trash.  The stencil was sitting in front of me, still covered with ink and I had a VOILA moment.  So, using his handy dandy 12 months of tags June technique, I spritzed some water on the inky stencil and put it ink side down on cardstock. When I pulled the stencil up and used my heat gun to dry it, I realized the resulting image looks as though I was standing in a woods of rainbow hued trees, looking up to a bright sun.

I created a FAUX-rest. (Thank you, thank you, I’m here all week.)

GP White, Recollections Black,  Distress Inks Barn Door, Spiced Marmalade, Mowed Lawn, Faded Jeans and Dusty Conord. Doodlebug sentiment in Memento Tuxedo Black.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Less is More Week 179 Challenge | Madame Wong