How to turn off Predictive Text on an HTC One X

Standard

I received the HTC One X through a promotion on Twitter. Never one to turn down a legit offer for something groovy and free, I didn’t mention to the giveaway peeps that I’m a T-Mobile girl. Got the unlock code for the phone and I’ve been using it happily for a couple of weeks now.

Love the phone, love the size but HATE the predictive text. I didn’t have that with the My Touch Slide that I’ve been using for 2 years. I feel it’s like Google Instant – and I HATE Google Instant. I know what I want to type, please do not try and second guess me. The phone nearly had me send a tweet out today that said bestial instead of be still and that was it – I’d had it.

The problem is, when you go to Settings – Language & Keyboard – HTC Sense Input – Advanced Settings, the Prediction Preference is checked on but greyed out so that you can’t change them.

Searched and searched online for the way to turn off the predictive text but most of the sites had me looking at the manual, which does not tell you how to do this. Some of the sites were European and they have different controls. Finally found one with the answer.

The trick is to go back to the Settings – Language & Keyboard – HTC Sense Input screen and toggle off Trace. Then move to Advanced Settings and click off Spell Correction and then Word Prediction.* Voila, no more auto correct mishaps.

*If you turn off Word Prediction first, it greys out Spell Correction which is then still on.

2 responses

  1. Thank you!!! I’ve been trying for the past 45 minutes to get the predictive text off my moms phone

  2. Thank you very very much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just turned off the predictive preference……………….. feels so good